# Thanks.io

> Thanks.io is a direct mail automation platform that prints postcards, letters, folded notecards, magnetic MagnaCards, and mailed gift cards with digitally rendered handwriting, sends them one at a time or in bulk from a dashboard, REST API, MCP server, HubSpot, or Zapier, and tracks each piece with a per-recipient QR code; every published per-piece rate includes US postage, there is no minimum order, and plans run from $0 a month (4x6 postcards at $1.18) to $49 and $199 a month for lower per-piece rates and campaign automation.

- Category: Corporate Gifting & Direct Mail (https://saastracker.org/categories/direct-mail-gifting)
- Website: https://www.thanks.io
- Starting price: $0 per month with 4x6 postcards at $1.18 each, postage included; Business is $49 per month billed monthly
- Free plan: Pay as you go: $0 per month, every mailer type except gift cards, full REST API, QR codes and scan tracking, per-recipient personalization, and ThanksAI Studio, at the highest per-piece rates and First Class postage only.
- Free trial: No time-limited trial; free physical samples and a $10 signup credit (valid 90 days) with no credit card required
- Founded: 2017, HQ: Two Rivers, Alaska, United States (company mailing address), Ownership: Privately held, founder-led
- Profile last reviewed: 2026-09-26
- Canonical profile: https://saastracker.org/products/thanks-io

## Key facts

| Attribute | Value | Source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Starting price | $0 per month; 4x6 postcard $1.18 each with postage | thanks.io/pricing, 2026-09-26 |
| First paid tier | $49 per month (Business), 4x6 postcard $0.77 | thanks.io/pricing, 2026-09-26 |
| Postage | Included in every published US per-piece rate | thanks.io/pricing, 2026-09-26 |
| Minimum order | None; single sends at the same per-piece rate | thanks.io/pricing, 2026-09-26 |
| Free trial | No trial; free samples and a $10 signup credit, no card | thanks.io, 2026-09-26 |
| Handwriting method | Digitally rendered and printed, not pen-written | thanks.io/llms-full.txt, 2026-09-26 |
| API access | REST API v2 on every plan, including pay as you go | thanks.io/llms-full.txt, 2026-09-26 |
| Gift cards | Paid plans only, US only; $1.83 plus face value on Business | thanks.io/pricing, 2026-09-26 |

## Overview

Thanks.io says it was founded in 2017, and its about page names four founders: Justin Tracy (CEO), Melanie Ebersole (COO), Walter Dearing (CTO), and Ryan Hartman (CMO). The company's mailing address is a PO box in Two Rivers, Alaska. It describes itself as serving more than 5,000 business owners, which is a vendor claim rather than an audited figure. The product began with real estate agents and small businesses that wanted a thank-you postcard to go out without anyone buying stamps, and that customer base still shows: Neighbor Blast radius mailing, Street View photos of the recipient's house, and a Just Listed/Just Sold spin-off are all first-class features.

The thing to understand before buying is what 'handwritten' means here. Thanks.io is explicit, in its own machine-readable product description, that it does not use pens or human writers: the handwriting is rendered by a proprietary digital engine with several fonts, AI fonts, and an optional Realism Mode that varies spacing and adds the occasional crossed-out word, then printed onto the piece. That puts it in a different product class from Handwrytten, Simply Noted, and IgnitePost, whose robots press a real ballpoint into the card. The trade is obvious once stated: a printed hand costs a fraction of a pen-written one and scales without a production queue, but it will not pass the thumb-smudge test.

Pricing is the most transparent in the direct mail half of this category, and the company says so on its own pricing page. There are three self-serve plans and every per-piece rate includes printing, the handwriting, and US postage. Pay as you go has no monthly fee and puts a 4x6 postcard at $1.18, a windowed letter at $1.24, and a folded notecard at $3.04. Business at $49 a month drops those to $0.77, $0.83, and $1.83 and unlocks gift card sends and campaign automation. Professional at $199 a month drops them again, to $0.64, $0.79, and $1.49, and adds a dedicated success manager. There is no minimum order on any plan, and the vendor states the per-piece rate is the same whether you send one card or a million.

Around the mail itself sits a fairly deep automation layer for a company this size: ten campaign types including drip, birthday, anniversary, holiday, recurring, radius, and paced sending; webhooks on order status, delivery, and QR scans; a native HubSpot integration that added several new workflow actions in September 2026; Zapier, Make, n8n, and other connectors; a public REST API on every plan including pay as you go; and a product MCP server that lets an AI agent preview and send real, billable mail. The product changelog shows new features shipping several times a month through August and September 2026, which is about as clear a sign of an active product as this category offers.

## How it works

1. You create a free account (the vendor advertises no credit card, free physical samples, and a $10 signup credit valid for 90 days), then pick a mailer type: a 4x6, 6x9, or 6x11 postcard, a windowed or windowless letter, a folded notecard, a 6x9 MagnaCard with a pop-out fridge magnet, or a mailed gift card on a paid plan. The front design comes from a template, an uploaded image, a synced Canva design, or ThanksAI Studio, which generates a design and copy from a plain-English prompt.

2. The message is typed once with merge variables such as first name and city, and can be written per recipient by AI if you want each piece to differ. You choose a handwriting style and, if you like, Realism Mode. Recipients come from a CSV or Excel upload, a mailing list built in the dashboard, a radius search around an address, a HubSpot workflow, a Zapier, Make, or n8n trigger, or an API call.

3. Orders placed before 11am Central are processed the same business day, according to the vendor. Pay as you go mails at First Class; paid plans default to cheaper Standard Mail and can upgrade a send to First Class for $0.05 on 4x6 and 6x9 postcards or $0.21 on everything else. First Class adds USPS piece-level tracking and return-to-sender; Standard has neither. The company runs NCOA change-of-address processing on every send and credits returned undeliverable pieces back to your balance.

4. Every piece carries a unique QR code. Scans show up in the analytics page by image template, message template, and list, and on paid plans a scan can fire an email or SMS alert, a webhook, a move to another list (which can start a follow-up campaign), or a paid email and phone append. Billing draws down a prepaid account balance at your plan's per-piece rate, including for API sends.

## Best for

Small businesses, real estate and mortgage agents, insurance agents, ecommerce brands, and developers who want printed mail with a handwritten look at under two dollars a piece, all-in with postage, with no minimum order and a real API or HubSpot trigger behind it.

## Not the right fit for

- Buyers who need genuinely pen-written notes; Thanks.io says plainly that its handwriting is digitally rendered and printed, so anyone whose recipients will rub the ink should look at Handwrytten, Simply Noted, or IgnitePost.
- Teams without mailing addresses; there is no recipient-choice link that collects an address, so the address problem is yours (the vendor does sell a paid email-to-address append at $0.07 per match).
- Anyone wanting a physical gift catalog, swag, or recipient choice; the only gift on offer is a gift card mailed inside a card, and it requires a paid plan.
- Regulated senders who need HIPAA or a completed SOC 2 report; the vendor's own comparison marks HIPAA as not advertised, and SOC 2 Type I is listed on its trust page as planned.
- International gift card programs; gift cards and multi-page letters are US-only, and international postcards cost roughly two to three times the domestic rate.

## Features

### Mail formats and handwriting

What can go in the mailbox, and how the handwriting is actually made.

- **Postcards in three sizes**: 4x6, 6x9, and 6x11 postcards, each with QR tracking. The 4x6 is the price anchor: $1.18 on pay as you go, $0.77 on Business, $0.64 on Professional, postage included.
- **Windowed and windowless letters**: Full-color letters with letterhead; the windowless version carries a real stamp. Additional pages are $0.20 each, and a PDF-only mode lets you mail a newsletter or statement as is.
- **Folded notecards**: A 5x4 folded card with a real stamp, the format closest to a personal note. It is the most expensive standard mailer at $3.04 pay as you go and $1.49 on Professional.
- **MagnaCards**: A 6x9 postcard with a pop-out business-card magnet, aimed at service businesses that want to live on the recipient's fridge.
- **Digitally rendered handwriting**: A proprietary engine with multiple fonts, AI fonts, and a Realism Mode that varies spacing and adds occasional crossouts. The vendor states it is printed, not written with a pen, and publishes a handwriting tester so you can judge it before sending.
- **Canva sync and ThanksAI Studio**: Designs can be synced from Canva as image templates, or generated from a plain-English prompt in ThanksAI Studio and saved for reuse. The studio also scores copy, which is a vendor feature claim rather than a validated predictor.

### Personalization and targeting

Making a printed piece feel like it was written for one person.

- **Merge variables and AI messaging**: Standard replacement variables for name, city, and custom fields, plus per-recipient AI-written copy on paid plans, so a batch of 500 cards does not carry 500 identical messages.
- **Street View and AI House Effects**: Dynamic image templates can print the recipient's own house on the card, and since September 2026 restyle it with an AI effect at $0.10 per mailer. This is squarely a real estate and home services feature.
- **Neighbor Blast radius mailing**: Mail every address in a radius around a subject property, with radius address search at $0.05 per address, the Just Listed and Just Sold workflow real estate agents buy this product for.
- **Data appends**: Pay-per-use lookups on every plan: email to postal address at $0.07, IP address to postal address at $0.20, and address to email and phone at $0.20. Useful, and also a set of data practices worth checking against your privacy obligations before use.
- **VisitorView**: Website visitor retargeting: identified visitors are resolved to a postal address at $0.20 each and can be mailed. The vendor's plan summary lists it under Professional while its data-services list says paid plans, so confirm which tier you need.

### Campaigns and automation

Business-plan features that turn single sends into a program.

- **Ten campaign types**: Days After Added drips, Birthday, Anniversary, Holiday, On a Specific Date, Every Month, Every Year, Neighbor Blast, and two evenFLOW pacing modes that spread a list across the year or cap sends per day.
- **Gift card sends**: Branded gift cards from brands including Amazon, Starbucks, Target, and Home Depot mailed inside a card, priced at the mailer rate plus face value ($1.83 plus face value on Business). US only, paid plans only, and recipients can be asked for contact details and a documented opt-in before redeeming.
- **QR scan actions**: On paid plans a scan can trigger an email or SMS alert, a webhook, a move to another list, or an email and phone append, so a scan can start the next touch automatically.
- **Suppression lists and address verification**: Automatic address verification, deduplication, and suppression lists keep do-not-mail records out of every future send.
- **Address collection landing pages**: Listed in the plan comparison as a platform tool, for gathering addresses you do not yet have rather than buying them.

### API, integrations, and AI agents

The part developers and RevOps teams will care about.

- **REST API on every plan**: API v2 sends any mailer with a single POST, manages lists, recipients, templates, and campaigns, supports OAuth 2.0 and personal access tokens, and has a test mode. An OpenAPI 3.1 spec is published, and API access is included on pay as you go.
- **Webhooks**: Order status, item status, item delivered, and QR scan events on paid plans, with an audit log recording every API call, Zapier call, login, and webhook event.
- **Native HubSpot integration**: Send mail from contact and company records and from workflows. The changelog shows HubSpot workflow actions added on 18, 20, and 23 September 2026, including adding records to a Thanks.io mailing list.
- **Zapier, Make, n8n, and more**: Connectors for Zapier, Make, a verified n8n community node, Pipedream, Integrately, and Pabbly, which is how Salesforce, Pipedrive, HighLevel, and Shopify sends are wired. The vendor says most automation integrations require a paid plan.
- **Product MCP server**: An OAuth-authenticated MCP server lets an AI agent design, preview, cost, and send real, billable mail, with a mandatory preview step before anything is charged. A separate read-only documentation MCP server serves the API docs to coding assistants.

## Use cases

- **Real estate agent farming a neighborhood**: A listing just sold and the agent wants every house within a few streets to hear about it, with the sold house pictured and a way to measure who responded. Outcome: Neighbor Blast mails every address in the chosen radius at the plan's postcard rate, the Street View image puts the house on the card, and the QR code on each piece turns scans into a follow-up list the agent can call.
- **Shopify brand running post-purchase thank-yous**: First orders are not turning into second orders, and the thank-you email competes with everything else in the inbox. Outcome: A Zapier or n8n trigger on each first order sends a handwriting-style 4x6 postcard with a QR discount code. On Business that is $0.77 a card with postage and no minimum, and scans attribute the repeat order to the card.
- **B2B sales team adding a physical touch in HubSpot**: Deals stall after the demo, the team has office addresses for most contacts, and nobody will remember to mail anything by hand. Outcome: A HubSpot workflow action fires a notecard at a deal stage change, with a $10 coffee gift card inside on Business ($1.83 plus face value), and the QR scan comes back as a webhook the team can log.
- **Developer building mail into a product**: A SaaS product wants to mail customers a welcome card or a physical notice without contracting with a print house. Outcome: The REST API on the free pay-as-you-go plan sends each piece with one call from a prepaid balance, the test mode covers integration work, and delivery webhooks arrive once the account moves to a paid plan.

## Pricing

Prepaid account balance drawn down per piece, with an optional monthly plan that lowers every per-piece rate and unlocks automation. All published rates include printing, handwriting, and US postage. Data services are metered separately per lookup.

- **Pay as you go**: $0 per month. 4x6 postcard $1.18, windowed letter $1.24, notecard $3.04, postage included; No subscription, no minimum, no setup fee; Full REST API access; QR codes and scan tracking; No gift cards, campaign automation, or webhooks. The right plan below roughly 120 postcards a month, where the $49 Business fee starts to pay for itself.
- **Business**: $49 per month billed monthly (yearly billing gives about two months free). 4x6 postcard $0.77, windowed letter $0.83, notecard $1.83; Standard Mail rates with a paid First Class upgrade; Gift card sends at $1.83 plus face value; Campaign automation, webhooks, and QR scan actions; Priority support. Where most small senders should land once volume is regular.
- **Professional**: $199 per month billed monthly (yearly billing gives about two months free). 4x6 postcard $0.64, windowed letter $0.79, notecard $1.49; Everything in Business; Dedicated success manager; Design, messaging, and API consultation services; VisitorView website visitor retargeting. Pays back against Business at roughly 1,150 4x6 postcards a month on rate alone; the services are the other half of the case.
- **Enterprise**: Custom quoted. Custom volume pricing; Everything in Professional; The homepage mentions custom pricing for 1,000-plus pieces a month.

Add-ons:

- First Class upgrade on paid plans ($0.05 per 4x6 or 6x9 postcard, $0.21 per other piece): Adds USPS tracking and return-to-sender; pay as you go is First Class already.
- Additional letter pages ($0.20 per page)
- Email to postal address append ($0.07 per match)
- IP to postal address, address to email and phone ($0.20 per lookup)
- Radius address search ($0.05 per address)
- Print Protect anti-smudge coating ($0.15 per card)
- AI House Effects ($0.10 per mailer)
- International mail (4x6 postcard $2.52 / $2.16 / $2.03 by plan): International pricing includes handwriting, postage, and customs handling.

Billing notes:

- Every published per-piece price includes printing, the handwriting, the mail piece, and US postage. That is the single biggest difference from Handwrytten and Simply Noted, whose card prices exclude postage.
- The monthly fee buys a lower rate, not the right to send. Pay as you go has no fee at all, so a single postcard costs $1.18 and nothing else.
- Yearly billing gives about two months free on the subscription fee, roughly 17 percent off according to the pricing FAQ. The yearly total is not printed on the page; ten months of the $49 fee would be $490. Per-piece rates are the same on either cycle.
- Sends are paid from a prepaid balance. Purchased credits never expire and are non-refundable; promotional credits such as the $10 signup credit expire after 90 days.
- Paid plans price at Standard Mail, which has no USPS tracking and no return of undeliverable pieces. The pricing page FAQ quotes 3 to 10 business days for Standard and 1 to 5 for First Class, while the vendor's llms file quotes 7 to 14 and 3 to 10; plan on the longer set.
- Worked example for a $25 gift card send on Business: $1.83 for the card and postage plus $25.00 face value, so $26.83 per send, on top of the $49 monthly plan. Gift cards cannot be sent on pay as you go.
- Cancel from the dashboard at any time with no cancellation fee, per the vendor. Qualifying nonprofits get postcards from $0.47.

Value assessment: On price per physical touch with postage included, Thanks.io is the cheapest handwriting-look option in this category and one of the cheapest ways to mail anything at all: $0.64 to $1.18 for a 4x6 postcard delivered, with no minimum and no required subscription. The comparison that matters is with the pen-and-robot vendors. Handwrytten's cheapest no-commitment card is $3.75 before postage, so a Thanks.io Professional notecard at $1.49 with postage included is well under half the all-in price. What you give up for that is the pen: the handwriting is printed, and a careful recipient can tell. For postcards, farming mail, and post-purchase cards that trade is easily worth it. For a founder's note to a named enterprise buyer, it may not be. Against Lob and PostGrid the postcard rates are similar or better on the paid plans, and Thanks.io adds handwriting, campaign automation, and HubSpot without a developer.

### Entry price history

Dates are when SaaSTracker checked the vendor's published pricing, not when the vendor changed it.

Entry price first recorded on 26 September 2026. It will be re-checked when this category next comes round the rotation.

| Checked | Entry price | Normalised | Event | Note |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2026-09-26 | $0 per month with 4x6 postcards at $1.18 each, postage included; Business is $49 per month billed monthly | $4 monthly, flat | recorded |  |

## Strengths

- Postage is included in every published rate and every rate is published, including international, nonprofit, and data-service prices, which removes the arithmetic most direct mail vendors leave to the buyer.
- No minimum order and a $0 plan: a single 4x6 postcard costs $1.18 delivered, and the per-piece rate does not change with batch size.
- A full REST API, OpenAPI spec, and test mode on the free plan, plus webhooks and an agent-ready MCP server with a mandatory cost preview on paid plans.
- Ten campaign types, QR scan actions that can start the next touch automatically, and a native HubSpot integration that is being actively extended.
- Real estate tooling (radius mailing, Street View images, AI House Effects) that no other vendor in this category offers in the same product.
- An unusually active changelog, with new features dated through August and September 2026.
- Honest self-description: the vendor states in writing that its handwriting is printed, not pen-written, which makes the buying decision easier to get right.

## Limitations

- The handwriting is printed by a digital engine, not written with a pen, so it fails the smudge test that robot-pen vendors pass.
- No compliance attestation yet: the trust page describes SOC 2-aligned controls on AWS and Cloudflare but lists SOC 2 Type I as planned, and HIPAA is not advertised.
- Gift cards are US-only, require a paid plan, and are the only gift option; there is no gift catalog, swag, or recipient-choice flow.
- Standard Mail on paid plans has no USPS tracking and no return-to-sender, and the vendor's own pages disagree on delivery windows.
- Some plan boundaries are documented inconsistently: the llms file says pay as you go has no automation integrations while also saying single sends can be triggered from Zapier, Make, or n8n on any plan. Test the exact trigger you need before relying on it.
- The data-append features (email to address, IP to address, website visitor to address) create privacy obligations for the sender that the product does not handle for you.
- A small, founder-run company with a PO box address in Alaska and no published funding or headcount, so enterprise procurement support will be thin.

## Comparisons

- **Thanks.io vs Handwrytten**: Handwrytten's robots write with a real ballpoint and its cheapest card is $3.75 plus postage with no plan; Thanks.io prints its handwriting and sells a notecard for $3.04 with postage included on pay as you go, or $1.49 on Professional. Choose Handwrytten when the recipient will handle the card closely and a pen-written note is the point. Choose Thanks.io when you are mailing postcards or letters at volume, want postage in the price, or need radius mailing and QR scan automation that Handwrytten does not match.
- **Thanks.io vs Lob**: Lob is the developer-first print-and-mail API with postcards from about 90 cents, compliance credentials Thanks.io does not have, and monthly plans from $260 once volume grows. Thanks.io matches or beats Lob's postcard rate on its paid plans ($0.77 or $0.64), adds handwriting, a campaign builder, and HubSpot for non-developers, and asks $49 rather than $260 for the first paid tier. Pick Lob for regulated transactional mail at scale; pick Thanks.io for marketing and relationship mail a small team runs itself.
- **Thanks.io vs PostGrid**: PostGrid's free Starter plan puts a 4x6 postcard at about 90 cents with a CASS-certified address engine, but caps the free plan at 500 pieces a month and has no published middle tier above it. Thanks.io costs more per postcard on its free plan ($1.18) and less on Business ($0.77), has no volume cap, and adds handwriting and campaign automation. Take PostGrid for address-quality-sensitive transactional mail; take Thanks.io for small-business marketing mail that needs to look personal.
- **Thanks.io vs Simply Noted**: Simply Noted uses robots with real pens and sells prepaid credit blocks from $2.76 a card for 100, plus $0.82 postage. Thanks.io prints its handwriting, needs no prepaid block, and includes postage in a $1.49 to $3.04 notecard price. If authenticity of the pen stroke is what you are paying for, Simply Noted is the honest product; if you want the handwritten look on postcards and letters at the lowest all-in price, Thanks.io wins.
- **Thanks.io vs Goody**: Goody sends real gifts to an email address and lets the recipient supply their own address, with a free Starter plan in the US, Canada, and UK. Thanks.io needs the postal address up front and its only gift is a mailed gift card. Use Goody when you have email addresses and want to give something tangible; use Thanks.io when you have addresses and want a cheap, trackable piece of mail with a handwritten look.

## Pairs well with

Thanks.io is a gifting tool, and a team running it still has 7 neighbouring categories to staff. The pick in each is HubSpot CRM for sales CRM, Instantly for cold email outreach, Expandi for LinkedIn outreach, Reply.io for sales engagement, Journey for digital sales rooms, Livestorm for webinars & virtual events and Calendly for scheduling & booking, each the leading tool in that category on published criteria.

| Category | Ideal pairing | Because | Benefit |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Sales CRM | [HubSpot CRM](https://saastracker.org/products/hubspot-crm) (Category Leader) | Thanks.io is built for gifting, not CRM. HubSpot CRM adds free unlimited view-only seats. | Every conversation ends up on a record, so a rep leaving does not take the pipeline with them. |
| Cold Email Outreach | [Instantly](https://saastracker.org/products/instantly) (Category Leader) | Thanks.io lists gift cards are US-only among its limits. Instantly adds unlimited accounts + free warm-up on every tier. | Outreach goes out on a schedule and replies land in one place instead of a personal inbox. |
| LinkedIn Outreach | [Expandi](https://saastracker.org/products/expandi) (Category Leader) | Thanks.io is built for gifting, not LinkedIn. Expandi adds conditional smart sequences. | A second channel reaches the people who never open email, without a rep doing it by hand. |
| Sales Engagement | [Reply.io](https://saastracker.org/products/reply-io) (Category Leader) | Thanks.io is built for gifting, not engagement. Reply.io adds Email Volume plan. | One cadence covers email, calls and LinkedIn, so nobody drops a follow-up between tools. |
| Digital Sales Rooms | [Journey](https://saastracker.org/products/journey-io) (Ease of Use) | Thanks.io lists Standard Mail on paid plans has no USPS tracking among its limits. Journey adds Pitch Mode and Microsite Mode. | The buying committee reads one link, instead of hunting a thread for the latest deck. |
| Webinars & Virtual Events | [Livestorm](https://saastracker.org/products/livestorm) (Category Leader) | Thanks.io is built for gifting, not webinars. Livestorm adds unmetered reminder and follow-up emails. | A live session runs with registration, reminders and a recording, without a production crew. |
| Scheduling & Booking | [Calendly](https://saastracker.org/products/calendly) (Category Leader) | Thanks.io is built for gifting, not scheduling. Calendly adds deepest self-serve inbound routing stack in the category. | Meetings get booked in one click at times that are genuinely free, with no back and forth. |

Pairings follow the SaaSTracker methodology (https://saastracker.org/methodology): the leading tool in each complementary category, chosen on published criteria. Placement cannot be purchased.

## Implementation

- Setup time: Minutes to a first send: create an account, pick a template or sync a Canva design, type a message, upload a CSV, and pay from the balance. HubSpot or Zapier triggers take an hour or two; a full API integration using test mode is a day or two of developer time.
- Learning curve: Low for single sends and uploads. The campaign builder, evenFLOW pacing, and QR scan actions take a session or two to understand, and the harder skill is writing a short message that does not read like an ad printed in a handwriting font.
- Onboarding: Self-serve on pay as you go and Business, with free physical samples as the recommended first step. Professional adds a dedicated success manager and design and messaging services, and the homepage mentions concierge onboarding and Slack access for teams.
- Migration: Moving from another mail vendor is a CSV of recipients and a set of designs; Canva sync helps if your artwork lives there. Moving from a robot-pen vendor, send yourself samples of both before switching, because the printed handwriting is the main thing that changes. Any prepaid balance at your old vendor is usually not transferable, so run it down first.

## Platform, API & security

- Platforms: Web dashboard, REST API v2, Product MCP server, HubSpot, Zapier, Make, n8n, Pipedream, Integrately, Pabbly
- API: Public REST API v2 on every plan including pay as you go, with OAuth 2.0 and personal access tokens, a test mode, an OpenAPI 3.1 spec, webhooks on paid plans, an audit log, an OAuth-authenticated product MCP server, and a read-only documentation MCP server.
- Compliance: SOC 2 Type I listed as planned on the vendor's trust page (not yet attested), No HIPAA compliance advertised
- Data residency: Hosted on AWS behind Cloudflare, per the vendor's trust page; no regional hosting option is advertised.
- SSO: Not advertised.
- Security notes: The trust page describes TLS 1.2+ in transit, AWS-managed encryption at rest, role-based access with MFA for administrative access, peer-reviewed code changes, and centralized logging. It states customer data is not used to train external AI models without explicit consent. The sensitive data here is recipient names and postal addresses, plus whatever the append services return; review those services against your own privacy obligations.

## Support

- Channels: Help center, Email and contact form, Priority support on Business, Dedicated success manager on Professional, Weekly AI and marketing automation strategy webinar
- Documentation: Help center at help.thanks.io, API documentation and changelog at docs.thanks.io, an OpenAPI spec, a published llms.txt and llms-full.txt, and a documentation MCP server.
- Community: A Facebook group run by the company and a YouTube channel with product walkthroughs.

## Company

- Founded: 2017
- Founders: Justin Tracy, Melanie Ebersole, Walter Dearing, Ryan Hartman
- Headquarters: Two Rivers, Alaska, United States (company mailing address)
- Ownership: Privately held, founder-led
- Employees: Not disclosed
- Funding: Not disclosed; the company publishes no funding history.

Timeline:

- 2017: Thanks.io is founded, according to its about page, to make sending handwriting-style direct mail as easy as sending an email.
- 2026: Pricing page updated on 12 July with Pay as you go, Business ($49), and Professional ($199) plans and postage-inclusive rates from $0.64 per postcard.
- 2026: Ships message template management and webhook documentation in the API (August), an order replay endpoint and metadata on API orders, and cloning for ThanksAI Studio designs.
- 2026: September releases add AI House Effects, seven new gift card brands, gift card opt-in collection, a Refer and Earn program, and several new HubSpot workflow actions.

## Integrations

HubSpot (native), monday.com (native), Canva (design sync), Zapier, Make, n8n (verified community node), Pipedream, Integrately, Pabbly, Salesforce, Pipedrive, and HighLevel via connectors, Shopify, WooCommerce, and BigCommerce via connectors, REST API and MCP server

## FAQ

### What is Thanks.io?

Thanks.io is a direct mail automation platform. It prints postcards, letters, notecards, MagnaCards, and mailed gift cards with digitally rendered handwriting, sends them singly or in bulk from a dashboard, API, MCP server, HubSpot, or Zapier, and tracks each piece with a unique QR code. Every published per-piece price includes US postage.

### How much does Thanks.io cost?

Pay as you go is $0 a month with a 4x6 postcard at $1.18, a windowed letter at $1.24, and a notecard at $3.04, postage included. Business is $49 a month and drops those to $0.77, $0.83, and $1.83. Professional is $199 a month and drops them to $0.64, $0.79, and $1.49. Enterprise is quoted. Yearly billing gives about two months free on the plan fee.

### Is the handwriting written with a real pen?

No. Thanks.io states that it does not use pens or human writers. The handwriting is rendered by a proprietary digital engine, with an optional Realism Mode that varies spacing and adds occasional crossouts, and then printed. If you need ink pressed into card stock, Handwrytten, Simply Noted, and IgnitePost use robots with real pens.

### Is postage really included?

Yes, for US domestic mail. The vendor says every per-piece price covers printing, handwriting, the mail piece, and postage, with nothing added at checkout. International rates are listed separately and include postage and customs handling. The paid plans price at Standard Mail, and First Class costs $0.05 more per 4x6 or 6x9 postcard and $0.21 more per other piece.

### Is there a minimum order?

No. You can send a single postcard, and the vendor states the per-piece rate is the same at any volume. There are no setup, template, or account fees, and the pay-as-you-go plan has no monthly fee.

### Can I send gift cards?

Yes, on Business, Professional, or Enterprise. A gift card is mailed inside a card for $1.83 plus face value on Business or $1.49 plus face value on Professional, from brands including Amazon, Starbucks, Target, and Home Depot. Gift card sends are US-only and are not available on pay as you go.

### Does Thanks.io have an API?

Yes, on every plan including pay as you go. API v2 sends any mailer type with one POST request, manages lists, templates, and campaigns, supports OAuth 2.0 and personal access tokens, and has a test mode. Webhooks for order status, delivery, and QR scans are on paid plans. There is also a product MCP server that lets an AI agent preview costs and send real mail.

### How do I know whether the mail worked?

Each piece has a unique QR code, and scans are reported by template and list. On paid plans a scan can send you an email or SMS, fire a webhook, move the recipient to another list, or trigger a paid email and phone append. First Class mail adds USPS piece-level delivery tracking.

### How long does delivery take?

The vendor's own pages disagree. The pricing FAQ quotes about 3 to 10 business days for Standard Mail and 1 to 5 for First Class, while its llms file quotes 7 to 14 and 3 to 10 from the print date. Orders placed before 11am Central are processed the same business day. Plan around the longer figures.

### Is Thanks.io SOC 2 or HIPAA compliant?

Not yet. Its trust page describes security controls on AWS and Cloudflare and calls the platform SOC 2 aligned, but lists SOC 2 Type I as planned rather than completed, and its own comparison table marks HIPAA as not advertised. Healthcare and other regulated senders should use a vendor with an attested program.

### Who runs Thanks.io?

The about page names four founders: Justin Tracy (CEO), Melanie Ebersole (COO), Walter Dearing (CTO), and Ryan Hartman (CMO), and gives 2017 as the founding year. The company lists a mailing address in Two Rivers, Alaska and does not publish funding or headcount.

### What should I pair Thanks.io with?

Thanks.io is a gifting tool, and a team running it still has 7 neighbouring categories to staff. The pick in each is HubSpot CRM for sales CRM, Instantly for cold email outreach, Expandi for LinkedIn outreach, Reply.io for sales engagement, Journey for digital sales rooms, Livestorm for webinars & virtual events and Calendly for scheduling & booking, each the leading tool in that category on published criteria.

### What do I pair with Thanks.io for Sales CRM?

HubSpot CRM. Thanks.io is built for gifting, not CRM. HubSpot CRM adds free unlimited view-only seats.

### Is Thanks.io enough on its own?

For gifting, yes. Thanks.io does not cover cold email outreach, LinkedIn outreach and sales engagement, and its own profile says so; Instantly, Expandi and Reply.io are the tools that fill those gaps.

## Editorial verdict

Thanks.io is the cheapest way in this category to put something in a mailbox that looks handwritten, and the most transparent about what it costs: every rate is published, postage is inside it, there is no minimum order, and a $0 plan lets a solo agent send one postcard for $1.18. The automation is real rather than decorative, with ten campaign types, QR scans that trigger the next step, a HubSpot integration being extended month by month, and an API on the free plan. Two things decide whether it is right for you. First, the handwriting is printed, and the company says so; if the pen stroke is the point, buy Handwrytten or Simply Noted and pay two to three times as much. Second, there is no compliance attestation yet, so regulated senders should look at Lob. For a small business, an agent, or an ecommerce brand that wants trackable, personal-looking mail at postcard prices, it is the first product to try.

---

Source: SaaSTracker (https://saastracker.org), an independent editorial project. This profile is compiled from public information, carries no peer reviews or paid placement, and was last reviewed 2026-09-26. Awards are judged on published criteria: https://saastracker.org/methodology
