HubSpot Marketing Hub logoOrtto logo

HubSpot Marketing Hub vs Ortto

An independent, review-free comparison compiled by the SaaSTracker editorial team. Both products are profiled in full, and neither can pay for placement here.

Still shortlisting? Browse the best in Marketing Automation for every option we track, with award winners called out.

The short answer

Editorial assessment

HubSpot Marketing Hub compared with Ortto

Ortto offers a customer data platform, event ingestion, and journey automation with a modern interface, at roughly $509 a month on its automation plan, which is below HubSpot Professional once the $3,000 onboarding fee is amortised. HubSpot is stronger on CRM depth, attribution, and integrations. Ortto is the better pick for a product company that needs event data in its journeys without paying HubSpot Enterprise prices.

Choose HubSpot Marketing Hub if

Small and mid-sized businesses with a content-and-forms funnel who want marketing, sales, and service on one contact database, and who can either live inside Starter's limits at $20 a seat or genuinely justify Professional at $800 a month plus $3,000 onboarding.

Choose Ortto if

Mid-market and scaling B2C or B2B companies that want a customer data platform, multi-channel journeys, and reporting from one vendor and can carry a three-figure monthly bill, particularly teams currently paying separately for a marketing tool, an analytics tool, and a chat widget.

Side by side

13 attributes
HubSpot Marketing Hub compared with Ortto across 13 attributes, including pricing, setup time, platforms, and company facts.
AttributeHubSpot Marketing HubOrtto
CategoryAutomationAutomation
Starting price$0 (free tools), then $20 per seat per month (Starter)Not currently published (the pricing page was withdrawn after the Canva acquisition; last published around $237 a month annually at 10,000 contacts) (free trial)
Pricing modelTiered subscription combining per-seat pricing with a marketing-contact meter, plus a mandatory one-time onboarding fee on Professional and Enterprise.Contact-based subscription across Starter, Professional, Business, and Enterprise tiers, with prices banded by contact volume, sending included, and month-to-month available on Professional while Business and Enterprise require an annual commitment.
Free planFree marketing tools include forms, email marketing with HubSpot branding, live chat, ad management, and the full free CRM for up to two users.No
Free trial14-day trials are offered on paid tiers; the free plan itself does not expire.Free signup, no credit card required (length not stated)
Best forSmall and mid-sized businesses with a content-and-forms funnel who want marketing, sales, and service on one contact database, and who can either live inside Starter's limits at $20 a seat or genuinely justify Professional at $800 a month plus $3,000 onboarding.Mid-market and scaling B2C or B2B companies that want a customer data platform, multi-channel journeys, and reporting from one vendor and can carry a three-figure monthly bill, particularly teams currently paying separately for a marketing tool, an analytics tool, and a chat widget.
Setup timeA day for Starter, including domain connection, forms, and a first email. Four to eight weeks for a serious Professional implementation, which is why the $3,000 onboarding fee exists and is charged.A week to a first journey for a marketing team using the no-code connectors, longer if custom activities need to be instrumented by engineering. The CDP setup is the work; the journey builder is the easy part.
Learning curveModerate. The interface is well designed and HubSpot Academy is genuinely excellent, but the platform is large, and the interaction between lifecycle stages, lists, workflows, and marketing-contact status confuses almost every new administrator for the first month.Moderate. The journey canvas is approachable and the reporting is comprehensible, but the platform is wide, and teams routinely use a third of it. Decide up front which of the five channels and which reporting surfaces you are actually adopting, or the tool sprawls.
PlatformsWeb application, iOS and Android apps, REST APIs and private apps, Hosted landing pages, forms, and blog, Browser extensions for email trackingWeb app, REST API, Mobile push SDKs, JavaScript tracking and chat widget, Webhooks
ComplianceSOC 2 Type II, GDPR tooling including consent and data subject requests, CCPA support, HIPAA-enabled configurations on certain enterprise arrangementsGDPR, CCPA, CAN-SPAM, SOC 2
Founded20062015
HeadquartersCambridge, Massachusetts, United StatesSydney, Australia
OwnershipPublicly traded (NYSE: HUBS)Acquired by Canva in April 2026; previously venture-backed

Strengths and limitations

HubSpot Marketing Hub

Strengths

  • The shared CRM database across marketing, sales, service, and content is the platform's genuine structural advantage and the reason workflows can act on deals and tickets without an integration.
  • Reporting and multi-touch attribution are the best in this category by some distance, and they are the honest justification for Professional pricing.
  • The largest integration ecosystem in the category, with more than 1,500 marketplace apps and a serious developer platform.
  • The free tier and Starter are legitimately good, self-serve, and carry no onboarding fee, so evaluation costs nothing but time.

Limitations

  • The Starter-to-Professional cliff is a forty-fold price increase with nothing in between, and it catches almost every growing small business.
  • Mandatory onboarding fees of $3,000 on Professional and $7,000 on Enterprise are real money and are frequently omitted from vendor comparisons.
  • Custom behavioural events are gated to Enterprise, which makes HubSpot structurally unsuitable as the lifecycle engine for a product-led SaaS company at any sane price.
  • Crossing marketing-contact blocks bills immediately, which turns routine list operations into billing events and requires ongoing discipline.

Ortto

Strengths

  • Genuine breadth for one subscription: CDP, journeys, five messaging channels, forms and surveys, live chat, a knowledge base, and a real reporting layer.
  • The journey builder is a direct descendant of Autopilot's, which was one of the most legible visual canvases the category ever produced, and it still reads well.
  • Because the data platform and the messaging platform are the same product, audiences and reports are computed from one dataset instead of two that disagree.
  • Extensive no-code integrations, so a marketing team without engineering support can connect Salesforce, Shopify, Google Ads, Facebook, and Zendesk themselves.

Limitations

  • Expensive for what a small team typically uses. At entry volumes Ortto costs several times Drip, Vero, or Encharge for what many buyers will use as an email automation tool.
  • Mobile push, transactional email and SMS, dedicated IPs, landing pages, lead scoring, and NPS are all locked behind Professional, roughly doubling the price.
  • Contact-count billing means dormant records cost money, which is the standard trap of profile-metered platforms and rewards ruthless list hygiene.
  • The Canva acquisition introduces genuine roadmap uncertainty; Ortto now exists to strengthen Canva Grow, and standalone customers are no longer the only constituency.

Pricing compared

HubSpot Marketing Hub

Tiered subscription combining per-seat pricing with a marketing-contact meter, plus a mandatory one-time onboarding fee on Professional and Enterprise.

  • Free$0
  • Starter$20
  • Professional$890
  • Enterprise$3,600

Starter is good value and Professional is a genuine decision. At 5,000 marketing contacts, Starter with two seats plus four extra contact blocks lands around $240 a month but gives you almost no automation, while Professional lands near $950 a month in year one before the $3,000 onboarding fee, so call it $1,200 a month across the first twelve months. At 50,000 marketing contacts, Professional runs into the low thousands per month once contact blocks are added. Against EngageBay at roughly $240 a month for the same list size, or GetResponse at a few hundred, HubSpot has to justify a five to ten times premium. Sometimes it can: the attribution reporting, the shared CRM, and the 1,500-app marketplace are real and no cheaper tool matches them. Often it cannot, particularly for a SaaS team that will hit the behavioural-events ceiling and need a second tool anyway.

Ortto

Contact-based subscription across Starter, Professional, Business, and Enterprise tiers, with prices banded by contact volume, sending included, and month-to-month available on Professional while Business and Enterprise require an annual commitment.

  • StarterNot published
  • ProfessionalNot published
  • BusinessNot published
  • EnterpriseCustom

Ortto's value case is consolidation, and it only works if you actually use the breadth. If Ortto replaces a marketing automation tool, a chat widget, a form builder, and an analytics dashboard, then a few hundred dollars a month for one unified contact record is straightforwardly good economics and the reporting quality alone justifies part of it. If you use it as an email tool with a journey builder, you are paying several times what Drip, Vero, or Encharge charge for the same outcome. The Professional gate is the sharpest edge: mobile push and transactional sending sit behind roughly a doubling of price, and OneSignal gives away push entirely. Judge Ortto on how many other subscriptions it cancels, and be honest about that number before signing anything annual.

Editorial verdict on each

HubSpot Marketing Hub

Category Leader

HubSpot Marketing Hub is the safe answer and, at Starter, a genuinely good cheap one. The shared CRM, the attribution reporting, the ecosystem, and the training are real advantages no smaller vendor matches, and the free tier means evaluating costs nothing. The problem is the middle of the product line: Starter has almost no automation, Professional costs $800 a month plus a mandatory $3,000 onboarding fee, and there is nothing between them. For a SaaS company the second problem is worse, because in-product behavioural events sit behind a $3,600-a-month Enterprise tier, so HubSpot cannot be your lifecycle engine at any price a small company should pay. Use the free CRM and Starter for as long as they hold. When you outgrow them, price Professional honestly against EngageBay, GetResponse, and Ortto, and if your triggers are product events, buy a purpose-built tool instead and let HubSpot be the CRM.

Read the full HubSpot Marketing Hub profile

Ortto

Ortto is a consolidation play and should be judged as one. Buy it when you are cancelling a marketing automation tool, a chat widget, a form builder, and an analytics dashboard at the same time, because one contact record feeding journeys, five channels, and real reporting is genuinely worth a few hundred dollars a month. Do not buy it as an email tool: at that job it costs several times Drip, Vero, or Encharge and you will use a third of what you pay for. The Professional gate is the practical sting, since mobile push and transactional sending sit behind roughly a doubling of price, and contact-count billing means dormant records cost money forever. The Canva acquisition in April 2026 removes the survival question and adds a roadmap one, so prefer month-to-month over an annual commitment while the new owner's intentions become clear. For a five-person startup, this is not the first lifecycle tool to buy. For a thirty-person marketing team drowning in disconnected subscriptions, it is one of the more convincing single-vendor answers available.

Read the full Ortto profile

HubSpot Marketing Hub profile last reviewed 2026-09-27; Ortto last reviewed 2026-09-26. Pricing is compiled from public sources and can change without notice. See our methodology.

The best in Marketing Automation

16 tracked

Marketing automation platforms trigger messages and campaigns from customer behavior, moving people through lifecycle stages across email, in-app, SMS, and push without manual sends.

  • HubSpot Marketing Hub logoHubSpot Marketing HubCategory Leader

    The category default: forms, email, automation, and reporting on one record, with an ecosystem nothing else matches.

  • EngageBay logoEngageBayBest Value

    The whole HubSpot shape for the price of a single HubSpot seat.

  • Bento logoBentoMomentum

    Founder-run Bento passed 1B emails a month in 2025 while adding SOC 2, MCP integration, and AI sequence drafting, growth the big suites should notice.

  • Mailmodo logoMailmodoInnovation

    Interactive AMP email that completes the action inside the inbox, removing the landing page from the funnel entirely.

  • Encharge logoEnchargeEase of Use

    First flows run the same day on imported contacts, and the gentlest flow builder in the category lets teams operate without a dedicated ops person.

Frequently asked questions

6 questions

What is the difference between HubSpot Marketing Hub and Ortto?

Ortto offers a customer data platform, event ingestion, and journey automation with a modern interface, at roughly $509 a month on its automation plan, which is below HubSpot Professional once the $3,000 onboarding fee is amortised. HubSpot is stronger on CRM depth, attribution, and integrations. Ortto is the better pick for a product company that needs event data in its journeys without paying HubSpot Enterprise prices.

Is HubSpot Marketing Hub or Ortto cheaper?

HubSpot Marketing Hub starts at $0 (free tools), then $20 per seat per month (Starter). Ortto starts at Not currently published (the pricing page was withdrawn after the Canva acquisition; last published around $237 a month annually at 10,000 contacts) (free trial). The billing models differ, so the entry price is rarely the whole cost. HubSpot Marketing Hub pricing model: Tiered subscription combining per-seat pricing with a marketing-contact meter, plus a mandatory one-time onboarding fee on Professional and Enterprise. Ortto pricing model: Contact-based subscription across Starter, Professional, Business, and Enterprise tiers, with prices banded by contact volume, sending included, and month-to-month available on Professional while Business and Enterprise require an annual commitment.

Does HubSpot Marketing Hub or Ortto have a free plan?

HubSpot Marketing Hub has a free plan. Free marketing tools include forms, email marketing with HubSpot branding, live chat, ad management, and the full free CRM for up to two users. Trial terms: 14-day trials are offered on paid tiers; the free plan itself does not expire. Ortto has no free plan. Trial terms: Free signup, no credit card required (length not stated).

Who should choose HubSpot Marketing Hub?

Small and mid-sized businesses with a content-and-forms funnel who want marketing, sales, and service on one contact database, and who can either live inside Starter's limits at $20 a seat or genuinely justify Professional at $800 a month plus $3,000 onboarding.

Who should choose Ortto?

Mid-market and scaling B2C or B2B companies that want a customer data platform, multi-channel journeys, and reporting from one vendor and can carry a three-figure monthly bill, particularly teams currently paying separately for a marketing tool, an analytics tool, and a chat widget.

What are the best alternatives to HubSpot Marketing Hub and Ortto?

SaaSTracker profiles 16 products in Marketing Automation. The Summer 2026 awards in the category went to EngageBay (Best Value), Bento (Momentum), Mailmodo (Innovation). Every profile is compiled from primary sources, so a shortlist can be built from pricing, limitations, and fit rather than from star ratings.